Nicole Walker becomes President of EEAA

Arinex CEO Nicole Walker has been voted as the next President for Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA).

EEAA announced a strong and diverse newly constituted Board of Directors following the Annual General Meeting on 28 September. EEAA Immediate Past President, Spiro Anemogiannis announced the new office bearers for the EEAA Board Director, whom he said were elected unopposed:

Nicole Walker, Arinex – President
Helen Mantellato, ICC Sydney – Vice President
Paul Elliot, Harry the hirer – Treasurer and,
Elissa Duke, MCEC – Secretary

The two venue designated board positions remain vacant. The board has agreed to call for expressions of interest from venue members, which close on 10 December. The EEAA board understands and appreciates that our venue members around the country are currently focused on rescheduling and resourcing of events. This extended EOI period allows them to re-emerge from this hectic time and be in a position to nominate for these vacancies. I welcome the new board especially the new President, who will contribute energy, drive and different perspectives as an Australian business owner. I look forward to remaining on the board to continue our hard work and delivery of member benefits.”

Incoming President, Nicole Walker said: “It is a true honour to be elected as President of EEAA and the Board. I will continue the advocacy work, provide our members with clear outcomes, drive quality training and best practice to grow their businesses. Together with the Board and the EEAA team, I will ensure the value of this sector is recognised in Australasia, not only for the industries it supports but for the legacies it leaves long after. Spiro stated in his outgoing message about the difficulties in bringing the industry together under one umbrella however, I would like to thank Spiro and the EEAA outgoing Board for having this conversation with the Australian events industry and look forward to continuing these discussions. I hope to provide enthusiasm for collaboration to ensure consolidation and strength of unity and voice of the exhibition and events industry.” Walker continued: “I would also like to welcome the other board members who were newly elected including:

Rodney Cox, Director, Delaro as Supplier representative
Rod Peter, Managing Director, Coleman Group as Supplier representative
Kym De Britt, CEO, Australian Dental Industry Association as the Association representative

EEAA Vice-President Helen Mantellato thanked Spiro Anemogiannis, for his six-year service as President: “Spiro has devoted so much of his time, effort and passion to the benefit of our industry. Over the past two years, he presided over the most difficult times of our lives, and despite the challenges we all faced due to COVID-19, his focus was on supporting the Association. He unfailingly advocated for each and every one of the members from all sectors of the Business Events industry. On behalf of the EEAA Board, we thank Spiro for his leadership, perseverance, pragmatism and dedication, and the legacy he is leaving for the benefit of the industry.”

EEAA CEO Claudia Sagripanti said: “We had strong interest this year from a wide range of our Member companies who were keen to contribute to the development and recovery of the Business
Events industry. Congratulations to those who were nominated for positions in this year’s Board election, and to those newly elected. We encourage all members to get involved in the EEAA activities, and welcome collaboration and feedback. The EEAA Secretariat and I look forward to supporting the board and implementing the Rebuild Strategy including the roll out of our marketing activity, supporting our Emerging Leaders, and programs including Sustainability, Risk & Safety, Digital & Technology and Skills & Training.”

The newly constituted EEAA Board of Directors:
Organiser Representatives:
Nicole Walker, Chief Executive Officer, Arinex
David Longman, Managing Director, Diversified Communications Australia
Spiro Anemogiannis, Managing Director, Informa Australia
Matt Pearce, CEO, Talk2 Media and Events

Association Organiser Representative:
Kym De Britt, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Dental Industry Association

Supplier Representatives:
Paul Elliott, State Manager NSW, Harry the hirer
Rodney Cox, Director, Delaro
Libbie Ray, Director, Connected Event Group
Rod Peter, Managing Director, Coleman Group

Venue Representatives:
Helen Mantellato, Senior Manager, Business Development International & Exhibitions, International Convention Centre Sydney
Elissa Duke, Senior Manager, Agile Project Management Office, Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre

Exhibition & Event Association of Australasia | | ABN 35 433 559 243
PO Box 952 Chatswood NSW 2057 | T: 02 9413 9520 | E: